Music Monday! Slash: Bad Rain

Monday is upon us again, and I’m posting from my iPad once more. I’ve noticed a few bloggers doing ‘Music Monday’ posts and here I am shamelessly jumping on the bandwagon. There are four reasons I’ve chosen this track:

1: Slash, Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators are some of the best rock musicians in the world today
2: I have a short story in progress inspired by this song
3: I’ve been thinking about rain recently. I’m loving all this sunshine, but my garden’s so parched, I could do with some Bad Rain, or good rain, to save me watering it every night!
4: I love this animated video and the story it tells

This track has it all: killer guitar riffs from Slash, awesome lyrics and vocal by Myles Kennedy. The lyrics are like a snippet of erotic vampire romance, and that appeals to me (of course). 😉 The short story I’m working on has these elements (although different from the song) but also ties in a couple of my other loves: Scottish myth and legend, and dance. I started the story way back last year when I was going through a really bad patch, long before I thought about blogging or trying to publish my fiction in any way. I was writing purely to cheer myself up and keep myself sane, and listening to Slash’s Apocalyptic Love album for the same reason. I confess I’ve been sidetracked away from the story with other stuff that’s been going on lately, but once I’m back from my holiday my aim is to finish it and then see what I can do with it.

Only eight days until my holiday! Yes, I know, I’m like a big kid. I am totally counting it down.

The video is a great piece of animation. I love the fact that the guy is walking along the Rue Morgue at the beginning. I adore the animated version of the band (although their real selves are much handsomer, so I’ve added a photo of them as well). WARNING: although it’s animation, this is a raunchy video (it’s set in a strip club).

So here it is: Slash, Myles and Co. as they’re known for short, with ‘Bad Rain’…

20130714-224826.jpg

6 thoughts on “Music Monday! Slash: Bad Rain

    • I love the Slash’s Snakepit stuff too. He’s been one of my favourite musicians ever since Guns ‘n’ Roses way back in my misspent youth! I was lucky enough to meet him on his most recent tour. 🙂

  1. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! Sorry I’m a day late responding. This is so cool! Thank you! 🙂 And I’ll have to tell you this again, your youth was definitely NOT misspent, LOL!

Leave a Reply

