Music Monday: Holiday (of course!)

Hello everyone! I just had to squeeze in this post before I went away. I have not one, but TWO videos for your delight. Personally I love both, which shows that I’m a bit of a closet pop princess as well as a rock chick. πŸ˜‰

Well, there was no doubt about the song title for this week’s Music Monday, was there? It had to be Holiday! Now the song I grew up with was Madonna’s. I love Madonna, bonkers though she undoubtedly is. The video is from the Blonde Ambition Tour, her best tour, in my opinion. I believe there is a place in the world for frilly pop as well as more serious music, and this is a perfect example of just that. Great staging, fantastic costumes, slick dance routines, and a summery song. What more do you need?

However…I couldn’t miss out the rock side of things, could I? Or in this case, punk rock. Yes, it’s Green Day! From their acclaimed 2004 album American Idiot, this Holiday is a different kettle of fish altogether. Although the melody is quite upbeat (for them), the lyrics tell a different story. Sadly, I’ve never seen Green Day live, so I’ll just have to make do with video.

So there you go, take your pick from eighties pop or noughties punk. About the only thing they have in common, apart from being great songs, is that both Madonna and Billie Joe Armstrong know how to apply black eyeliner really well. A talent I spent my eighties teenage years perfecting too, I might add. πŸ˜‰

Enjoy!

20130721-134714.jpg

20130721-134749.jpg

5 thoughts on “Music Monday: Holiday (of course!)

  1. LOVE! Love love love! Couldn’t possibly pick one over the other, these are among my favourites!! YAY, have a great time, Karen!! And! I can’t resist adding a song this time. A little bit more mellow and dreamy, this nonetheless classifies as rock, seeing as that it comes from German rock band, Scorpions. http://youtu.be/V2smLdYfe-o *sways in time to music* Safe travels and I look forward to catching up with you when you get back! πŸ™‚ Rock on!

    • Thanks Nicky, glad you liked my songs! And thanks for the Scorpions one, too. I didn’t think of them. I like them, but hubby is a BIG fan, so he’ll probably think I should have used The Scorpions instead of Green Day! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

