All the Ms: Miles for Macmillan and Music Monday!

I signed up last week to do something ambitious – well, for me anyway, at my current level of fitness. 😉 On Sunday 15th September hubby and I are walking 8 Miles for Macmillan.

For those of you who don’t know, Macmillan Cancer Support provides practical, medical and financial support to cancer patients, and campaigns for better cancer care.

We are doing this walk in memory of hubby’s father, John. John passed away in 1999 after suffering from prostate cancer. The Macmillan nurses were a great help when he needed care.

We are also walking for my mum, Margaret, who is about to undergo her 3rd operation for her 3rd form of cancer. Macmillan carers have provided help for her personally and around the home.

John passed away a year after hubby and I were married, so our wedding photos are some of the last ones of him. (Mum has no excuse – she just doesn’t like being photographed ;-)). The 3rd pic below is hubby’s favourite of his Dad, laughing his head off at a joke.

So lazy me has had to get off my a**e and get training. I walked just over 3 miles the other day and didn’t suffer too much, so that’s a start! We are going to build the distance up over the next 3 weeks ready for the event. It takes place at Chatelherault Country Park, in Lanarkshire, about 30 miles from where we live. Hopefully looking at the views below will take my mind off my sore legs.

If anyone would like to sponsor us, please follow the link below. You will all be treated to another post after the event, with pics of me red faced and passed out at the finish line!

https://www.justgiving.com/Gordon-Soutar1

As this is also Music Monday, I’ve chosen an appropriate track. It’s The Proclaimers, with ‘I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)’. Okay, I’m not walking that far, but it’ll feel like it! The Proclaimers, aka twins Craig and Charlie Reid, made their mark in the late 1980s with songs such as ‘Letter to America’ and ‘Sunshine on Leith’. Many of their songs reflected what was going on politically and economically in Scotland, and were a far cry both in content and delivery from the usual synth pop of the 80s. They are still making music and touring all over the world today.
Their songs (including this one) have featured in movie soundtracks, and there is even a musical based on their music!

The Proclaimers are easily recognisable for their geeky appearance, complete with glasses, and singing in their native accent. Most people would only identify it as Scots, but more specifically, it’s the Fife accent. And Fife is where hubby and I are both from originally. The Proclaimers come from ‘a wee toon just up the road fae us’ (did you like that? Some genuine Scots there) called Auchtermuchty. Yes, really.

I’ve chosen the original video, tempting as it was to use the one with Johnny Depp in it, from the film ‘Benny and Joon’. Mmm, Johnny Depp – sorry, don’t know what came over me there…

Enjoy! Meanwhile, I’d better get walking… 🙂

12 thoughts on “All the Ms: Miles for Macmillan and Music Monday!

  1. Good luck for the walk, and what a worthy cause. I’ll be thinking of you!! And great, very appropriate song choice, Adore this one. (Love those lovely lilting Scots accents too, *swoon*). Thanks!

    • Thanks Nicky, glad you liked the song! Hubby and I have been meaning to do something for Macmillan for a while. – as you say, a very worthy cause and one that means a lot to us. We’ve finally got off our butts and signed up to do something! 🙂

  2. Morning, Karen. Good luck with the walk. I’m sure you’ll do just fine=)

    Just a heads up, Friday I’m nominating you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award. It’s my way of saying thanks for all the support=)

Leave a Reply

