Hello again everyone…and goodbye to an old friend

Yes, I have survived the festive period. I’m fatter, my bank account is thinner. Some of my jeans are a bit tight, but who cares because I got lots of lovely new pyjamas and cosy slippers to laze about the house in. Don’t know what I’m going to do when I have to go outside, but let’s cross that bridge when we come to it… 😉

Oh, and Happy New Year! I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and New Year, or whatever you celebrate. If you don’t celebrate, I hope you had a great time anyway. If you’re a person who struggles at this time of year for any reason, hugs to you. Well done on surviving everyone else’s annoying cheerfulness and nonsense.

I’ve been a bad blogger over these last two weeks (ie: not blogging at all). I didn’t realise just how lazy I got over Christmas. I’m still in my first year as a blogger and fully intended it to be business as usual. Ha! What with visiting friends and family, attending a few gigs and shows, and just enjoying some time with hubby, it didn’t happen. Not much writing happened at all, actually. I’m trying to get back into my routine now. I need to get on with it, as I have a Creative Writing course assignment due in this week!

So what’s been happening? Well, all the usual Christmas stuff: eating and drinking too much, watching terrible TV, and wishing it would stop raining. One or two noteworthy things to report:

Hubby and I saw legendary rock band Black Sabbath in concert in December. They were AMAZING. Those old guys can still cut it! Definitely one of the highlights of the year.

I’ve been nominated twice for the Versatile Blogger Award. Big thanks to Morgan over at booknvolume, and belsbror, for nominating me. (Apologies to Morgan for the delay as she nominated me ages ago). I’ll try and do a separate post on this soon, but the way things have been going, that might not happen. So many thank yous again for the nominations.

Finally, one piece of bad news. Our elderly cat Jet, who was 17 years old, passed away in December. This added a tinge of sadness to our festive season. He was with hubby and me since he was a kitten. This old timer was there before we were married, and came with us on two house moves. He survived home renovations, cat fights, falling out of windows, and for the last four years, being plagued by Sam, our young Bengal. Sam is definitely missing his older ‘brother’. He spent the first few days looking all over the house for his missing friend. 😦

Goodbye you big furball, we all miss you.

Eek, don’t want to end on that gloomy note. So, as I am officially a crazy cat lady, and as Sam is certainly going to be lonely without his partner in crime, our house will be graced in time to come by a new kitty. Watch this space… Now, I really must get on with that writing assignment. Catch you later!

18 thoughts on “Hello again everyone…and goodbye to an old friend

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I refuse to stress over the addition of a few pounds. If it ever stops raining, I’ll get out and walk it off! 😉
      My big Jet cat had a lovely life, and 17 is a great age. We rescued him as a waif of a kitten, and he grew into a huge fluffball! 🙂

  1. Happy New Year, Karen! I’m sorry it was a little bittersweet and mixed at your end, but I wish you all the best for 2014 and many a happy writing (and rocking) hour. Big hugs and all my love to you, sister-in-rock! xxx 🙂

    • Thank you, Nicky – and I wish the same for you! Hope you had a lovely festive season. I’m so intrigued by the upcoming release of ‘Love Me Better’! I remember you hinted something a while back – can’t wait to hear it!! I’m using too many exclamation marks again!!! 😉
      Have a rockin’ week! xx

  2. Loved reading this, Karen, as usual! And I’m frankly quite happy that the festive days are over. All went well and peaceful in our own family, but I heard too many bad things from around. People that I had considered being really cheerful and positively thinking going into a deep depression, a friend’s marriage falling to pieces… No, December 2013 wasn’t a very good month. So let’s look forward to what 2014 will bring. Wish you all the best, a lovely new pet, although a new one can never really replace an old friend like your Jet. And most of all – keep on writing, girl!

    • Thank you, Rita! I know you lost a beloved animal friend as well. As you say you can’t replace them, but a new chum for Sam is needed, so there will be another kitty in due course… 🙂

    • Happy New Year, and thank you!
      At least my big kitty had a lovely long (and adventurous) life.
      Hope you have a great 2014 too – I look forward to seeing what romances you feature this year! xx

  3. Well, us crazy cat ladies have to stick together, Karen. LOL. Mathair and I love kitties and I’ve had my orange tabby for ten years now. His name is Peaches and we rescued him from an abandoned home in our neighborhood. So sorry for your loss, Karen. On a lighter note, it’s good to see you blogging and getting back to writing. Just wanted to let you know that we’ll be working as well for a late Spring release of the first book we wrote as Inion N. Mathair… a very witchy one with a strong Celtic feel. Wish us luck and good luck to you as well. Though we know you won’t need it as you are brilliant.

    • Thanks, ladies. Would love to see a pic of Peaches! I’ve never had a ginger tabby – though I’ve had one brown and two silvers!
      I’ll keep a look out for your book – it sounds just like my kind of thing! xx

Leave a Reply

