On no account should you allow a Vogon to read poetry at you…

Well, I’m not a Vogon, but you may all want to gnaw your own legs off soon, as I’ve started the poetry section of my Creative Writing course. πŸ˜‰

So far, I’m very much enjoying it. I don’t know whether I’ll ever call myself a poet, but the exercises we’re doing are great for coming up with ideas for other kinds of writing, too.

We’ve been encouraged to try haiku since the early days of the course, so I’ll post some of those. When I actually have a completed poem, I’ll be a Vogon and subject you to it, whether you want it or not.

I’m also reading ‘The Ode Less Travelled’, Stephen Fry’s book about poetry. My my, that man knows a lot of words! I love him. He’s the only person who can get away with using twenty words when one will do. Hubby has the audiobook of Stephen reading ‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’. Could listen to that all day…the man’s got a voice like chocolate.

From what I’ve written so far, I do think poetry may be the way that my thoughts on my rocky relationship with some of my family see the light of day. Interesting… It’s certainly cathartic scribbling it down on paper, even if that’s as far as it gets.

Right, enough of this heavy talk. Here’s a fun haiku to finish with:

Trying a new pen
How does it write, I wonder?
Please do not smudge

This was written after stealing hubby’s pen, that he got as a prize for something or other at work. As the writer in the household, I covet the good pens!

Many thanks, of course, to the late, great Douglas Adams, for the title of this post. πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “On no account should you allow a Vogon to read poetry at you…

  1. Maybe, but only maybe, someone will finally get me into poetry. So far I more or less tried to avoid it… But I’m totally with you on Stephen Fry! Give the man a phone book (do they still exist?) and have him read it to me!

  2. I agree that The Ode Less Travelled is fantastic. It’s great to have something that teaches the structural elements of poetry and so reassuringly encourages you to give it a go. Might have to dig it out again…

  3. My OH loves Stephen Fry’s “The Ode”. I’m more partial to his prose (Stephen’s, I mean). Poetry has always been my downfall. I remember sitting in German classes trying to figure out the stress and getting my tongue tangled in iambic pentameters. Poetry and me, we don’t get on. So I salute you in your endeavours and wish you every success — can’t wait to read the results!! X

  4. I love poetry. Reading it and writing it. Fills me with joy and splurges emotions. And it’s so much quicker than books so it’s a great joy to fit in around novel writing. Yum. It’s like a daily cleanse and treat. So glad you are enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

