Here Be Dragons

Why are there dragons on my blog today? Because, that’s why. Because I like ‘em. Because there are lots of them in books. And because another lady with the superb name of Karen nominated me for a Dragon’s Loyalty Award, amongst others. Big thanks to her! Check out her blog at My train of thoughts on…

There are lots of these bloggy awards and I just recently did a Versatile Blogger one ‘properly’, ie: nominating other people and stuff. So instead of all that I decided to do a dragony post. Just because.

Dragons are probably my favourite mythical creature. You can keep fairies and unicorns and soppy stuff. I want a dragon! I’ve always thought that they’re misunderstood, like my witches. Okay, yes, some of them are bad, but most of them are just trying to get on with life, when some idiot with a sword and a flame-proof shield turns up and tries to chop off their head. I’d incinerate first and not ask questions later, too. 😉

I’ve been trying to remember the first dragon I read about in books. I’ve come to the conclusion it was more than likely Smaug, from The Hobbit. All right, he was a bad ‘un. But since then I’ve read plenty more stories where dragons are a bit less evil. Some favourite books include:

Magician by Raymond E. Feist. Rhuagh is the first of the great dragons we meet, a wise old soul, who forces an equally wise old dwarf to rethink his opinion of dragons.

Guards! Guards! (And all the other books with the swamp dragons in them) by Terry Pratchett. Although there is a great dragon in this book as well, Mr Pratchett as usual stands things on their head with the little swamp dragons, which are bred by ladies as mad as my cat breeding friend. 😉

And for younger readers as well…How to Train Your Dragon, and its sequels, by Cressida Cowell. This was also made into a brilliant animated film by Dreamworks. Whoever designed Toothless, the main dragon character, should be given an award. The mixture of reptilian and feline characteristics and movements is amazing.

Hubby also likes dragons. He has three tattooed on him already, and is about to get a fourth.

Dragons are intelligent, beautiful and deadly. They breathe fire, and if you make friends with them, you can ride them! What’s not to love?

For my Creative Writing course, we were asked to write an alliterative love poem to something unusual. The verse below was inspired by this picture.

I can't remember where I found this image, so credits to whoever created it.

I can’t remember where I found this image, so credits to whoever created it.

Winged and wild and unwanted
Wreathed in red and russet and gold
Power to make the proudest warrior tremble
Flames from your jaws flare the night
None can doubt your nobility
Though they fear your fire
See me, serpent…
I dare to doubt the danger
Let me fly in your flames
Your friend for eternity and more

17 thoughts on “Here Be Dragons

  1. Dragons definitely rock 😉 I’m working on my own “twist” on them in my fantasy book. I agree with you on Toothless and the whole How to Train Your Dragon movie and animated series though I’ve yet to read the books. For the show, they crafted Toothless amazingly well and as someone who owns cats and dogs, he’s definitely got some dog characteristics in him too!

  2. Brilliant. Love dragons. Loved the Eragon tale as well as the other dragons you mentioned.
    Have to agree about the feline qualities of Toothless although I can’t help but think he’s a bit cute at times to be a dragon.
    I also adore the Hap Henrikson dragon collectibles. Long since out of their limited edition productions but stunningly detailed pieces. I’m lucky enough to own two plus a wizard to keep an eye on them.
    😉

  3. Beautiful poem, Karen. I’ve loved dragons since as far back as I can remember. I wanted to be a paleontologist when I was younger, just so I could secretly be searching for dragon bones to prove of their existence. LOL. Mathair and I are definitely going to be checking out the books you suggested, though I’m very partial to Smaug, as he was my first dragon as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

