What? Writing (and singing) about werewolves??

Pic courtesy of anandala.org

Pic courtesy of anandala.org

The crazy cat lady has taken time off from kitties recently, to write about dogs (cue hissing and spitting from the resident felines). Well, wolves – okay, werewolves, to be precise. And guess what? I’ve got a Music Monday song on werewolves here, too!

Some of you know that the wonderful Mari Wells hosted a month of all things werewolf in February, to celebrate the festival of Lupercalia. She was kind enough to feature a story of mine called The Change. This was originally written for an Open University Creative Writing course assessment. I got a pretty good mark for it, but one thing my tutor asked was ‘What happened next?’ I split the original story into two parts, and have answered my tutor’s question by writing a third part. I’m editing that at the moment, and it should appear on here soon.
Follow the links to read The Change (Part 1) and The Change (Part 2), if you want to. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Change is sort of a prequel to More, a serial I started a while back. It wasn’t the story I intended to write for my coursework. There’s a young man who features in the More story, and I was going to write about him. My lead character had other ideas! Anyway, More, and my werewolves, will be an ongoing thing. My head is full of ideas for future stories – must get writing!

So…big howls of love to Mari Wells for featuring me during Werewolf Month. Here’s a mad song to say thank you. I’ve gone for an unofficial video, as it has lots of cool werewolf artwork. Some of the pics are not the best quality, but they give an idea of the different portrayals of werewolves. Yes, it’s Warren Zevon, with ‘Werewolves Of London’. (Rock fact: Mick Fleetwood and John McVie of Fleetwood Mac play drums and bass on this track).

9 thoughts on “What? Writing (and singing) about werewolves??

  1. Sounds like you’re also dancing with wolves… at least in your mind. Brilliant! You keep on rocking the scene, girlfriend, you’re inspired. XXX Write on! Sing on! Howl on! (ooops, getting carried away here… XXX Mwah!)

    • Thanks Nicky! You know, I’ve always loved witches and vampires, but werewolves are one thing I didn’t think I’d end up writing about! Now I’ve started, they don’t seem to want me to stop… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. We are so similar. ๐Ÿ™‚ Vampires, Witches, and recently Werewolves. Love the song and pictures! Love your writing more!!! I can’t wait to read part 3, I’ll reblog as soon as you post it. Thank you again for being a part of Werewolf month, it was a honor to feature The Change.

    I’m excited to see what you have for July! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

