Happy St. Patrick’s Day Music Monday!

If this blog post is full of spelling mistakes and grammatical errors, blame the Guinness. I’m writing this after a couple of pints of the lovely stuff.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! As a fellow Celt, I love the Irish and their beautiful country. I have visited the Emerald Isle, but not nearly enough – must go back soon.

A much younger me on the top floor of The Guinness Storehouse, Dublin

A much younger me on the top floor of The Guinness Storehouse, Dublin

I’m actually typing this the day before, but we’ve had an early celebration in our house, as hubby is working all of St. Paddy’s Day itself. Hence the reason I’ve had some Guinness. I love Guinness – I’m not just drinking it for St. Paddy’s. It’s been my pint of choice since my University days. I used to be able to get through a lot more of it, but never mind… πŸ˜‰

Great music and musicians of all sorts have come out of Ireland. One of the things I enjoyed when I visited was just wandering into a pub, and finding people playing and singing. Some of you may know that I love folk music as well as being a rock chick. So we’re having a traditional Irish number today (although I first heard this performed by a Scottish singer. Hello, Steve Eaglesham). ‘Star of the County Down’ is an old Irish ballad set near Banbridge in County Down, in Northern Ireland. The words are by Cathal McGarvey (1866–1927) from Ramelton, County Donegal. This song has been widely performed and recorded, but I’ve gone for the version by Van Morrison and The Chieftains.

When I visited Dublin, many years ago, one of the singers in the Temple Bar area asked for requests, so I chose this – and got complimented on my smile by a smooth-talking Irish musician. He was lucky I was still standing, never mind smiling, as I’d had about eight pints of Guinness by then. I’d be in hospital if I had that many now. Ah, the foolishness of youth…

The video is a leetle cheesy (apologies to its maker), but has some good pics from the Emerald Isle. SlΓ‘inte! πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day Music Monday!

Leave a Reply

