Happy 1st Blogiversary To Me!

Pic courtesy of pinterest

Pic courtesy of pinterest

It’s one year since I posted my first blog entry!

How time flies.  I could never have imagined where it would lead.

I started out with the aim of doing at least one post a week, and I’m pleased to say I’ve achieved that (and often more).

I wanted to publish some of my fiction on my blog, too – and I’ve done that.

I wanted to learn more about the craft of writing. Thanks to the support, encouragement, and advice from fellow bloggers and writers, on WordPress, Twitter, and Facebook, I have learnt a lot (I hope!)

It also led to me starting an Open University Creative Writing course in October, which runs until May and which I’ve a) enjoyed and b) found very useful.

First pic I ever posted - Sam in the clean washing!

First pic I ever posted – Sam in the clean washing!

Some things I never expected:

Writers wanting to guest on my little blog. I didn’t know about blog tours, cover reveals, and all that stuff when I started. I sure do now!

Guesting on other people’s blogs, and having them actually ask me to write articles or fiction for them. Wow!

Blog Awards. Thank you to all those who nominated me.

The amazing friendship and support from other writers. I know I keep going on about this, but I never dreamt I would meet so many great people and receive such encouragement. Thanks for your patience in answering my daft questions!

Pic courtesy of freelancedream.com

Pic courtesy of freelancedream.com

My future bloggy/writerly plans:

One thing that doing my course has taught me, is that I CAN be disciplined and make time for writing every day, unless I’m doing something extra special. So, I intend to devote just as much time to writing once my course finishes, but next year I shall be:

Writing more short fiction and flash fiction

Submitting more of the above to magazines and anthologies

Working on my novel

Still blogging at least once a week, and posting fiction on my blog

The kind of dark stuff I like

The kind of dark stuff I like

Finally, I wish to thank *gets hankies out*:

My Long-Suffering Hubby, for being there for me, supporting me in this writing venture, and bringing me cups of tea

My Bestest Bud, for the same (without the tea, but with lots of wine)

My Freaks, as hubby charmingly calls them – this refers to my rock friends and my writer friends, sometimes interchangeable. Some are online, some offline, and some both, and they are all awesome!

My Muse

And finally finally, some highlights from the past year, if you like that sort of thing:

Top post: My Writing Process (I’m supposed to have a process??)

Top fiction, which also happens to be sexy, you naughty people: Wickedly Wet

Top non-sexy fiction: The Summoning

Thank you all so much!

Karen xx

33 thoughts on “Happy 1st Blogiversary To Me!

  1. I have really enjoyed reading your blog. When I read it I can actually hear you talking. Well done with all these amazing achievements.xx

  2. Congrats Karen & we can’t tell you how proud & happy we are for you! We’re huge fans of your blog & work so we can say that this comes as no surprise to us that you we’re able to achieve all your goals and then some!! We look forward to watching you in the year to come & learning more about your work & enjoying your incredible blog & all that is you, Karen Soutar!! 😉

  3. Happy Blogiversary to you! The blogosphere is so much better because you’re in it. Whilst we’ve never met in person (an ocean divides us, whilst) I feel like I’ve known you for years. Whilst. And I look forward to blogging with you, whilst we tweet, whilst we Facebook, whilst the big world spins and whilst I giggle every time you say ‘whilst’.

    Happy Blogiversary! Yay you!

    • Thank you! Whilst you are quite correct to say that it seems like we’ve known each other for years, I really don’t say ‘whilst’ all that often – oops, I did it again! 😉
      Thanks for being a great friend and supporting this little blog of mine! xx

    • You smoosh away – just be careful I don’t have your fingers off as well. 😉
      Thank you so much for supporting my blog with all the shares, RTs and stuff. And thanks for putting up with my inane questions over this past year! xx

  4. Happy blogiversary my love… And what a wonderful blog it is. I always look forward to your stories and hope to see many, many more! Same way you’ve been here for me, I will always be here for you! Hugs to you! Lily. 🙂

  5. Ooops and this is what happens when fingers are faster than brain. I didn’t mean to say ‘too many’ returns. LOL! That sounds entirely wrong. I meant, of course, ‘to many happy returns’. Duh! Sorry about that.

  6. Happy Blogiversary ! Can’t wait to read what you have planned for the future. Thanks also for convincing me that it’s not that scary to let people read what I write. Big hugs. See you soon x

Leave a Reply

