Do dragons catch colds?

According to one of those quiz thingies on Facebook, if I were a fairytale creature, I’d be a dragon. I’m quite happy with this. Powerful, beautiful – and I would hope, immune to the common cold. Managed to avoid catching one all winter and then spent this last week sniffling, coughing and generally feeling yuk. Grr.

Before I caught the dreaded lurgy, I spent an enjoyable weekend at the Scottish Tattoo Convention. So what happens at a tattoo convention, you may ask? Well, artists come from all over the world and tattoo people! It’s a great opportunity to get work done by someone you’d never normally meet. One of the great things about the internet and social media is you can find out in advance who’s coming, discuss what you want, and make an appointment. Or you can simply arrive on the day and see who’s got ‘walk-up’ space.
There’s plenty to amuse you if you’re not getting tattooed, or you’re waiting for someone who’s getting inked (hubby, of course). Shopping! There are stalls selling clothes, accessories, jewellery, shoes, art. You can often buy art from the tattoo artists, as well. These guys and girls do amazing paintings, drawings, etc. Vintage style is very popular and I spent a while at the vintage beauty parlour, getting hair, nails and make up done. There are bands playing, circus sideshow acts, burlesque artists. There are competitions for best tattoos; existing ones and those done on the day.
People watching is also a great way to pass the time. πŸ™‚
There was a charity raffle for customised Doc Martin shoes, bags, and other goods (didn’t win anything – bah).
For some, the sight of this tattooed, pierced, strangely dressed ‘alternative community’ can be a bit scary. It’s a clichΓ©, I know, but a nicer bunch of folks you couldn’t hope to meet. You get chatting to all kinds of people. Kids are welcome (there are warnings about the acts you might not want them to see), and they can get their faces painted or temporary tattoos put on or whatever. Some little girls were getting their hair done vintage-style. I would have loved that when I was a kid!

Still on the subject of dragons, hubby got his fourth dragon tattoo, courtesy of wonderful artist Dave Fox, of True Hand Studio, Philadelphia. There are some pics below.

So after this fun weekend I felt sorry for myself for the rest of the week. Pathetic, I know. I HATE being ill. I did manage to complete my Creative Writing course assignment on time. This one was Life Writing – I did a bit of autobiography mixed with travel writing. Let’s see how I get on. My tutor has three sets of assignments to mark, so I might not get it back until next week.

In other news, and still on dragons, my good friend Lily Eva over at Lilicasplace nominated me for a Dragon’s Loyalty Award – my second one. Thanks, Lily! I’m not doing the award-related post but I’m very grateful to be nominated. Check out Lilicasplace for the amazing story of this lady who survived a stroke and is bravely telling the story of it, as well as writing fiction and being a great supporter of other bloggers. Mwah!

I’m now off to do all the writing I should have done last week when I was being poorly. We have just bought a new computer, complete with a lovely ergonomic keyboard, so you should hear less threats from me about throwing the contraption out of the window. πŸ˜‰

Have a great week all!

7 thoughts on “Do dragons catch colds?

  1. I’d love to go to a tattoo convention! It sounds quite fascinating πŸ™‚ I promised myself I’d get a tattoo on my leg after my divorce but I haven’t yet because I don’t know where to go for it. I imagine I’ll figure it out eventually! Glad you’re feeling better and I hope the ergonomic keyboard works out well for you =)

  2. I’m dying to visit a tattoo convention. I’ve been wanting one for quite some time now. Matter of fact, I’ve been hinting to Mathair that I’d like one for my birthday. I love the tradition of them as well as the idea of showcasing art on one’s body. Though I’m not sure I could sit still for one as extensive and intricate as a dragon, I’d love to get a tribal Celtic and have even picked out a beautiful triquetra sketch that my friend got for her birthday. And of course, you’d be a dragon, because your beautiful, talented, and bad ass! Glad you’re feeling better and get to writing so we can devour whatever you publish. LOL

    • I couldn’t sit for as long as hubby does, either! I have one on my back: it’s the triple moon goddess symbol with the two crescent moons in Celtic knot work, and a black cat in front of the full moon. It took about 1 1/2 hours; that was ok but wouldn’t want to do much longer than that! xx

      • Those images sound beautiful, Karen. You’re much stronger than I am. I have a low tolerance for pain and would probably be booty sliding down the chair, cringing away from the needle. LOL

  3. A tattoo convention sounds awesome! Just our kind of place, even if we are still wussy to get tattoos. Hell, piercings hurt bad enough! Yes, we’re wimps πŸ˜€ That dragon tattoo is incredible. Being Welsh, we naturally love all things dragon related πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

