Excuses, excuses…

Here is a list of reasons why I didn’t blog last week:

Easter chocolate hangover

Practising Road Safety presentation for Commonwealth Games drivers

Having meetings re Commonwealth Games presentation

Sending a million emails re Commonwealth Games presentation

Shopping for new clothes in order to look amazing when giving presentation

Doing next Creative Writing course assignment

Panicking about said assignment

Doing more of assignment

Finishing first draft of assignment

Trying to stop Frodo cat pooping in plant pots

Anything else I can think of

So, as you can see, I’m still busy, dizzy and fizzy! Very much enjoying it all, though.

I would say normal service will resume soon, but I have no idea what normal service is. πŸ˜‰

Anyhoo…my assignment is due in a week’s time. The Commonwealth Games stuff starts for real a couple of days after. Then I’m going on a short break with long-suffering hubby (who really has been suffering, as he’s been my presentation guinea pig). I think we’re going to York, but it’s not quite decided yet…

After that, my final assignment is due at the end of May. Phew!

THEN…I shall quietly pass out in a corner.

‘You never do anything quietly!’ – Long-suffering hubby

Thank you, darling.

Okay, then I shall not-very-quietly be working on more material for this blog, including short fiction. I’ve loved my course and it’s taught me a lot, but it’ll be great to get back to writing more of the genres I like, and not having to worry quite so much about word count. I’m dying to do a big tidy up of this site, and I’ve got some bits and pieces to add to it. I’ll also be featuring some Vampire stories on Mari Wells‘s blog in the summer, if all goes as planned.

However, at the moment my mind is mostly being boggled by the size of the transport operation for the Commonwealth Games. (The Olympics would have been even bigger – ye Gods!) I and my colleagues have 2000 volunteer drivers to train during the month of May. Advanced driving techniques, radio and satnav use, Games routes, protocol when dealing with VIPs and other passengers…the list goes on. Hats off to all who volunteer for such work.

I shall Keep Calm and Carry On – or as us Scots say:

Shut up and get on with it

Shut up and get on with it

10 thoughts on “Excuses, excuses…

  1. It all sounds very exciting and busy! Good luck with the presentations and assignments, and York is beautiful (if you choose to go there). Enjoy! πŸ™‚ And looking forward to reading more of your stuff when abnormal service resumes πŸ˜‰

  2. Quite a workload, Karen! Sounds exciting, grueling, and fun. If you really end up in York, please say hello to the ‘Spinner’ at the NRM and have a pint of ‘Ghost Ale’ at ‘The Yorkshire Terrier’ for me. πŸ™‚
    Looking forward to reading your vampire stories on Mari’s blog!

  3. You had me at item one, LOL! Good for you to keep so busy and hey, that’s what life’s all about (sorry, my motto for the day). It’s all good! πŸ™‚ Tell your OH to let you not-so-quietly collapse in a heap and bring you a large G&T when you do. Else I’ll come and sort him out…..

  4. Exciting slash busy times! Must admit, it’s rather nice to sit down with a cup of tea and hear all about it from the comfort of my living room!! It will all be worth it once the games arrives πŸ˜‰

  5. I was in the same boat love! Between my writing classes and assignments, I didn’t know which way was up! It took me nine days to put up a post; at least it was for a good cause. πŸ™‚ Love you! Xoxoxo Eva

Leave a Reply

