Notes from a mad household

This is supposed to be a quick post (ha!) as I should be finishing up my final assessment for my Creative Writing course – due in three days. Hello, last minute panic! Just kidding, it’s mostly done. Then I have a long wait for the result – boo. Haven’t had to wait for exam results for a great number of years. It’s weird being back there again… šŸ˜‰

Other news from this week:

Had the sad duty of attending the funeral of best friend’s grandpa. But it was a lovely celebration of a great and long life. At the lunch afterwards, we were all entertained by best friend’s number two son having too much coffee, and looking like this:

My mum actually managed to go into hospital for a routine procedure and have it all go smoothly. Yay! She stayed with me for a day after, which was nice. Then, as I was driving her home, I discovered…

A crack in the car windscreen. On the day of a driving test! Oh super. Fortunately, the examiner allowed the test to go ahead. New windscreen arrives today.

Did my second-last week of road safety presentations for the Commonwealth Games volunteer drivers. I’m really going to miss it when we finish up next week. Everyone involved has been great to work with and it’s been enormous fun. Unfortunately, on Saturday, this meant I had to miss…

Long-suffering hubby running his first 10K run! Luckily his mum and her partner were there to cheer him on. He was very happy with his time, and it can’t have been too awful an experience, as he’s signed up to do two more races later this year. He also raised money for Macmillan Cancer Support, a great cause dear to both of us. Here he is with his medal (and his mum) at the finish:

So after that, the rest of hubby’s weekend was a well-deserved lazy one. As it’s a bank holiday weekend, the original Star Wars trilogy is on TV, so we’ve been having evenings on the couch watching those. Well, may the force be with me as I complete this writing assignment! Have a great week, everybody!

(Apologies to Bill Bryson for the title of this post. šŸ™‚ )

17 thoughts on “Notes from a mad household

    • Thanks! For this assignment I’m submitting the first chapter of my work-in-progress novel – ooh! But I may share a sneak peek… Some of my previous assignments are on this site under Fiction: Short Stories/Serials. ‘The Potion Mistress’ and ‘The Change’ parts 1-3. I have another one that I’m going to edit based on my tutor’s advice, then I’ll post that too. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

