An Apology In Advance

I discovered last year that this is the time when blogging goes a little bit askew. For someone without a large family, I do a surprising amount of stuff over the festive season. I am lucky to have a group of lovely friends to visit and who come to visit me. Then there’s the usual round of gigs, shows, carol concerts (several friends, and my mum-in-law, sing in two separate choirs). This year, a couple of extra things are happening, one good and one not so good.

I’ll start with the not so good thing: my mum has to go into hospital for an operation in December. Now, it should be straightforward, but my family doesn’t have a very good record when it comes to illness. If something can be complicated, it will be. Fingers crossed.

The good thing happening is that my cousin is getting married at the beginning of December. So I’m going to a winter wedding. At a venue up in the hills of central Scotland, overlooking a lake – it will be beautiful, but definitely cold and possibly snowy! Think my outfit will involve a dressy-but-warm coat of some kind.

The only bad thing about this wedding is the timing – it’s the day after I see Slash, Myles and Co. in concert. Yes, again. The other one was an extra; this is the official tour date. Fortunately, I’m booked in for hair and make-up the morning of the wedding. Good luck to my beautician on making me look presentable after a night of dancing, sweating and screaming at a gig. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, with all this going on, my presence in this world called the blogsphere may be a bit erratic. I’m also trying to get a short story completed for entry in a magazine, and I have vowed to myself I will have the first draft of my novel finished by February.

Fellow bloggers: apologies if I’m not around commenting and taking part in things as much as usual. I’ll be dropping in and out, just not as regularly as before. If I don’t speak to you, have a lovely Thanksgiving and Christmas and Winter Solstice and any other festival you celebrate. Or if you don’t, look after yourself and snuggle under a blanket with a good book. πŸ™‚

Karen xx

The winter wedding venue. The Vu, pic courtesy of humanistweddingsinscotland.blogspot.com

The winter wedding venue. The Vu, pic courtesy of humanistweddingsinscotland.blogspot.com

8 thoughts on “An Apology In Advance

  1. Hey, no need to apologise, we all know that real life gets in the way sometime. I hope your Mum’s op goes well and am sending healing vibes already. Fingers crossed and all good wishes. As for the wedding–it’ll be awesome, and you’ll be so full of happy endorphins after the fabulous gig the night before (if possibly ever so slightly deaf and hoarse) that you won’t need beautifying–you’ll be radiant anyway! Big hugs to you and enjoy the festive season! We’ll be right here waiting for you when you’re ready… XXX

    • Thanks Nicky! I think I needed to write this almost to let myself off the hook, if that makes any sense? My aim was always to blog at least once a week and I have to remind myself that it doesn’t matter if I don’t. Hope you are all well down in Lincs, and are ready to rock the winter season! xx

  2. No apologies needed, young lady. Sadly real life always has to come first. Hope all goes smoothly for your mum. As for the wedding, I’m sure you’ll look great ! You’ll still be buzzing from the night before anyway! See you soon x πŸ’–πŸŽ©πŸŽΆπŸ˜›β˜•πŸ°πŸ˜Š

Leave a Reply

