People Watching at a Rock Concert

So the rock music year began a couple of days ago with a visit to legendary Glasgow venue ‘The Barrowlands’, to see Halestorm. For once hubby and I didn’t queue all day like mad people to get to the front. For this one, we lurked at the back, drank Irn Bru, and enjoyed the music. I also enjoyed something you can’t do if you’re on the barrier: people watching.

The wonderfully tacky  Barrowland sign  - its been like this for as long as I can remember. Pic courtesy of Gordon Soutar

The wonderfully tacky Barrowland sign – its been like this for as long as I can remember. Pic courtesy of Gordon Soutar

It’s fascinating to watch other people at gigs. Most people are similar: bouncing up and down, air punching, horns up, singing along, having a good time and not spoiling anyone else’s night, even if they’ve had a few drinks. It’s great fun looking around and seeing everyone united in support of a fantastic band.

Then there are those who behave in such a way that they either a) mystify me or b) get on my nerves. Here are a few examples:

Moshers. Especially the ones who are clearly off their face. Why go to a gig and throw yourself into a melee of nutters where you’re extremely likely to get injured? The ones who are totally out of it – they could be anywhere. Why pay all that money when you’re not paying attention to the band?
Having said this, my friend’s son seems to be on the way to becoming an expert mosher. Must ask him what he sees in it… πŸ™‚

Excessively drunk people in general. Who appear to have no idea where they are. Again, why not just go the pub? Then there are the ones who are rowdy and aggressive and spoil it for others, especially youngsters who are new to gigs. Take your drunken bad attitude somewhere else. Home, preferably.

On to something not annoying, but mystifying…okay, it is annoying. The couple who stood near to us and basically snogged the faces off each other for most of the gig. Hello, the band is over there! Yuck, you’re distracting me. Again, please take it home where you can’t gross everyone else out.

If you’re a big lad, don’t squeeze through and then stand in front of the shortest lassie you can find. That’s just rude. Stand behind her, you moron! She might thank you for it later…okay, probably not. πŸ˜‰

When the band play the occasional ballad, don’t talk all the way through it. There’s Lzzy Hale with her beautiful voice and piano, singing her heart out – for all of about two minutes. Don’t worry, hardcore rockers, the noisy stuff will be back shortly. In the meantime, shut the f**k up.

I’m sure those of you who don’t see the appeal of going to gigs are thinking ‘Ugh, that’s why I don’t want to go!’ Let me reiterate that most people are NOT like this. Rock fans are some of the nicest folk you will ever meet. I’ve made so many friends around the world and had so much support from my rock music community. It’s become a clichΓ© in itself, I know, but I find that the tattooed, pierced, black-clad brigade are usually far nicer and much less judgemental than many others I’ve met. Anyway, I digress.

Mz Lzzy Hale rocking out wearing our flag. Pic courtesy of Coral McCallum

Mz Lzzy Hale rocking out wearing our flag. Pic courtesy of Coral McCallum

Halestorm played a blistering set and further secured their place on my list of top bands to see live. I love Lzzy Hale’s lyrics – her songs really resonate with me: strong empowered women taking charge of their lives, especially in the bedroom. Sexy stuff. Some of my erotica pieces are actually inspired by her words. Then there’s her brother Arejay on drums. This guy has to be seen to be believed! No hiding behind the drum kit for him – he’s a consummate entertainer and a huge part of the rock show.

Arejay Hale demonstrates his unique drumming style. Pic courtesy of Coral McCallum

Arejay Hale demonstrates his unique drumming style. Pic courtesy of Coral McCallum

Next gigs are folk and orchestral music – yes, really! Then it’s back to rock again at the end of April. Until then, I’ll just have to crank up the new surround sound system. πŸ˜‰

 

(This post also features on Julie Valerie’s Book Blog Fiction Writers Blog Hop.
Thanks for reading! To return to the FICTION WRITERS BLOG HOP on Julie Valerie’s Book Blog, click here: http://www.julievalerie.com/fiction-writers-blog-hopapril-2015/)

17 thoughts on “People Watching at a Rock Concert

  1. Brilliant! Spot on. I’m with you on all points! πŸ™‚ You of course forgot to mention those who watch the entire thing through their smart phone! Mystifys me, that one! πŸ™‚
    keep on rocking! \O/

  2. Roll on the rock music year! Glad to hear you had a great time, and what a fabulously perceptive post. I have another type of mystifying behaviour to add: what, exactly, is the point of throwing a pint of beer over the people in front of you? If someone wants to throw stuff, why not throw away a couple of fivers instead–now that would really spread the love! (Beer throwing behaviour witnessed at a recent rock gig in Lincoln. Thank God I was at the back this once, I’d have been gutted to receive a sticky beer shower, yuck!).

    Karen, one of these days we must go to a gig together, that would be awesome! Meanwhile I shall live vicariously through your posts and cheer you on. Rock on and write on, my friend!!

    • Hello Nicky, lovely to hear from you! I see your grand return is scheduled for 16th March *FANFARE* – can’t wait to catch up. πŸ™‚
      Ah yes, the beer throwing…that happens at Glasgow gigs quite a bit, although not much at Halestorm, strangely. Mystifies me, too. Waste of good beer, for a start! πŸ˜‰

  3. Being all of 4’11” tall myself, I applaud your comment about the guy standing in front. Can’t count how many times I’ve missed something because I’m staring at someone’s back. Ugh!

    People watching’s great, though. It provides so much for character development. Like that lady in the coffee shop the other day eating raw spaghetti…I can still hear her teeth crunching on the stuff.

  4. Ah, this takes me back! Wonderfully observantβ€”your post really puts you “in” the concert. And I’m with you on all counts for sure, especially because I was once almost clocked in the head by a wild-eyed drunk mosher swinging a vodka bottle around. Fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

