Happy Belated 2nd Blogiversary To Me!

Good grief, it’s been a month since my last blog post. A month! I know I said I wasn’t going to be posting as much due to work commitments and whatnot, but really…

I did catch a horrible bug 3 weeks ago, which wiped me out. Only felt properly better this week, so that’s my excuse. Every time I sat down to write it felt like my head was stuffed with cotton wool. How is this different from normal? – Long-suffering hubby 😉

Also, my mum has decided to move out of the big old house she’s rattling around in, into a lovely bungalow. Hubby and I have been helping her pack, choose new furniture (she’s enjoying that bit!), and generally get ready for the move.

My 2nd Blogiversary has come and gone! Poor thing, it didn’t get a cake, a couple of candles, or even a card. So: Happy 2nd Birthday, My Blog.

Did I achieve what I wanted to in my 2nd year of blogging? Hmm, let’s see:

Write more short fiction and flash fiction, to post on my blog and other blogs.
Yes! I did that. It’s petered out a bit recently, but I still managed to write a lot of short stories last year. And I have many more unfinished/in need of editing. 🙂

Submitting the above to magazines and anthologies.
I didn’t do as much submitting as I hoped to, but I did do some. I was pleased to have a flash fiction story in December’s issue of The Sirens Call eZine ‘Scriptum in Morte’. Read my short story of Death, plus many others, here: http://www.sirenscallpublications.com/pdfs/SirensCallEZine_December2014.pdf

Blog at least once a week.
This went well until the beginning of this year, when work schedules and commitments changed. I’m going to keep blogging, hopefully every 2 weeks (if you don’t count this last month!)

Working on my novel.
Umm, aah. This is the one that hasn’t happened. I have looked at it, and I’m coming to the conclusion that I need to make some large-ish changes to the story. I planned it, and starting writing it, before I began my blog, learnt so much from you guys, and did my Creative Writing course. In the light of what I know now, revising is required. I don’t know when I’ll get back to it at the moment – but that’s okay. I started this writing malarkey for fun, and it’s going to stay fun. Other stories need to be told, so novel is on the back burner for now, simmering.

I did also complete my Open University Creative Writing course, which I enjoyed very much. I wouldn’t rule out further study (if you’d said to me a few years ago that I’d go back to Uni, I would’ve laughed in your face), so it shows how much things can change.

Aims for this year? Well, until my mum is moved and her house is sold, I can see this year continuing in a similar way to the last few months. I’ll try to keep up my blog, post some fiction occasionally, and maybe submit some more pieces for publication. I hope to be able to change my schedule in the 2nd half of the year to include more writing again, but let’s not count those pesky chickens!

Pic courtesy of perezsolomon.com

Pic courtesy of perezsolomon.com

I also hope to start keeping up with everybody else’s blogs and writing again. I’m off to get reading your posts now. Byeee! 😀

23 thoughts on “Happy Belated 2nd Blogiversary To Me!

  1. Happy second blogiversary, Karen! Really–where have two years gone, LOL? Keep on trucking, rocking, and blogging, but one step at a time. Loveya! XX Looking forward to a real reunion, woohooo!

  2. Congrats! I’m trying to stick with blogging once a week too. For my personal goals, I feel it’s the right balance. More would interfere with writing and my everyday life and less would be spotty on gaining/retaining readers…

Leave a Reply

