The Kelpies At Night

The Kelpies in silver

The Kelpies in silver

Hubby recently took part in a 5K run around Helix Park and The Kelpies. While obviously being there to support him *snort*, I mostly busied myself taking photos of these guys. I hadn’t yet visited at night, and they were every bit as spectacular as I’d imagined. While there are far more professional photos around, here are a selection of mine.

(My post Two Huge Horses And A Walk In The Park shows some daytime views of the area, and What Is A Kelpie, Anyway? explains the origin of these sculptures’ unusual name.)

Note: Duke and Baron are the names of the Clydesdale horses who were the models for the Kelpie sculptures.

I love the way Duke and the man are looking at each other!

I love the way Duke and the man are looking at each other!

The runners fly past. Duke wonders what they are doing. ;)

The runners fly past. Duke wonders what they are doing. 😉

Beautiful in blue. Goodnight, Kelpies.

Beautiful in blue. Goodnight, Kelpies.

12 thoughts on “The Kelpies At Night

      • Ha ha! Did you know some of that was filmed at Doune Castle, just a few miles from where we live? I think I need to go and take some photos there… 😉
        I will pass on your congrats to hubby, and he will be delighted at your quote! xx

      • I didn’t know that – but I’m excited to see your photos! I’m a huge fan of Monty Python, and each member’s individual projects, but Holy Grail is probably my favorite of the films. As to the series… I still perform for the Ministry of Silly Walks in my spare time (much to my hubbie’s amusement), as well as a dyed in the wool self-appointed employee of the Department of Redundancy Department (often to said hubbie’s great frustration, and lots of chuckles)! 😀
        xoxo

    • I will pass on your congrats! And the Kelpies are gorgeous, aren’t they? Funny to think they’re only a couple of years old – everyone’s embraced them and it feels like they’ve been here forever! 🙂

Leave a Reply

