Goodbye To 2015

Hi folks! Hope you all survived the festive season, however you chose to celebrate it (or not celebrate it). Mine was quite low key, which suited me (and long-suffering hubby) just fine, as the second half of 2015 was rather manic. We are partying at New Year, though, so I’m gearing up for that, and trying to decide if I can brave the shops to buy a new sparkly top in the sales.

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, as I think it’s just a way to put pressure on yourself and then feel extra bad when things don’t go as planned. One thing I’ve realised over the past few years is that life loves to throw curve balls at you, and sometimes you just have to go with the flow. Take 2015. Nothing much happened in the first half, apart from helping my mum move into her new bungalow, and a fun mini break to Liverpool in May. Then: bam! All at once, our plan for major house renovations came together, and we took a holiday to Turkey, including a trip to Istanbul, right in the middle of it all. When we got back, it was full steam ahead to get the renovations finished – and then my mum had a stroke and spent four weeks in hospital. She has made a pretty full recovery and is back in her wee bungalow, but that gave everyone a bit of a fright. No sooner had the house been put back together, than I started my Open University degree in English Literature and Creative Writing. I’d also joined the local Writers’ Circle in September, which I’m very much enjoying. And to cap it off, early in December I heard I’d got a promotion at work, so I’m going to be even busier in 2016. Eek!

Me studying... ;)

Me studying… 😉

I fully admit I’ve struggled a bit to keep up this blog during 2015, simply due to lack of time – and with my OU degree, the Writers’ Circle, and more of the day job in 2016, I’m certainly not going to have any extra time next year! But I DO want to keep blogging – I love the community of readers, writers and all kinds of people I’ve met through doing it. So I’m telling myself here not to mentally beat myself up, and if my blog is a little less regular than weekly or even fortnightly, that’s okay. Some of the stuff I write for the Circle or for my OU course may end up as a blog post as well, killing the proverbial two birds with one stone. 😉

In spite of my lack of time, when I look back I’m pretty pleased with my writing achievements for 2015. I’ve had short stories and articles in two magazines and one newspaper. I’ve featured on a flash fiction podcast. I’ve read some of my work at my Writers’ Circle and I think the latter has improved my skills at reading a story out loud. And I have blogged quite a bit (most of you will have noticed my shameless links to some of my posts in the second paragraph). As well as those, my top posts for 2015 were:

What Is A Kelpie, Anyway?

What Goes On Tour (WARNING: this is naughty!)

Is That Really..? Yes, it is. The Pineapple.

There you go, shameless plugging of own work over. 😀 How about you? What did you achieve in 2015 that you’re proud of? Have you made any New Year’s resolutions? Whatever you’re doing, have a great last few days of 2015 and a super 2016!

13 thoughts on “Goodbye To 2015

  1. That’s quite a roller coaster of a year!
    You know what I’m most proud of so I won’t mention it again here but 2015 has been a special one. 😉
    I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions either but I do have a couple creative projects to keep me out of mischief all year and five gigs in the diary too!
    Have a fabulous New Year when it arrives. x

  2. Happy New Year, Karen!
    I’m glad your mom is doing well! It’s been a helluva year for me and I’m glad to be moving into a new one. There have been years when I haven’t made any resolutions, but I’ve got my list and whip in hand, so I hope to actually cross some of them off this year. Time will tell!

  3. I’ve had a lot of unexpected and time consuming projects to take care of in 2015 so I’m really hoping that this next year will be calmer. I never make resolutions! Especially those that include diets! Best of luck to you and yours this next year!

  4. Glad to hear your mom is doing better, Karen. It’s been the same kind of roller coaster ride of a year for me and Mathair, but we finally got the sequel to The Perfect 7 out and are now working on our newest series about Celtic witches. Hope you had a great New Years Karen.

  5. Congrats on your accomplishments. It’s so exciting to have your work published. I think this year I want to actively pursue finding a writing group to join. I have some trepidation about putting my words out there and hearing face-to-face feedback. So, good on you for doing it!

    Happy New Year, Karen!

    • Happy New Year! Good luck with your search for a writers group. I’ve really enjoyed mine so far. It is a bit scary putting your work out there face to face – but it gets easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

