Not Leaving, Just Changing Focus For a While

Some of you may have noticed I haven’t been blogging nearly as regularly as I used to. (Most of you will have not noticed, and that’s fine, because we’re all mega-busy and drop in and out of blogs when we have time, both as readers and writers.) I just wanted to do a little update on what’s been happening, why I haven’t been around, and why I may continue to not be around for a while.

The Day Job

This is taking up more brain power! That’s not to say I didn’t use my brain before, ha ha, but the new role I’ve taken on, training the actual instructors, requires a bit more energy. This means that when I’m at home in the evenings, I’m often too tired to write much. I’m sure that’ll change as I get more used to the new bit of my job, but for the time being, it’s having an effect.

Also, as of the end of August I’m going to be covering the Regional Business Manager’s role while they’re off for a few months, so that’ll take up extra time as well!


The New Project

Project Health! Of course, my day job is extremely sedentary. I’ve been aware for a while that I need to take more exercise, eat healthier and therefore lose some weight. Well, it’s now happening.

One of the perks of my job is I get to meet lots of different people. One of my ex-pupils is a fitness instructor. When I was teaching him to drive, he was just starting his own business. In the spirit of supporting local small businesses, and because we get on great, I’ve joined his gym, started doing fitness classes and met a whole lot of lovely other clients along the way. I’ve also been inspired, of course, by my hubby, who has done amazing things improving his fitness over the last couple of years. (See My Running Man for details.)

Inspirational hubby!

Inspirational hubby!

I started this at the beginning of May, and I’ve lost over a stone, gone down from a size 16/18 in clothes to a size 14, and I’m feeling great. After my summer hols, which are a week away, my short term goal is to lose another stone, and get down to a size 12. I’m also taking part in Supernova, a 5K running event in Falkirk at the beginning of November. My long term goal is to take part in the Tough Mudder event in 2017. I’ve signed up, and will be joining the M.K.Fitness team in all their muddy glory.

So getting fitter is taking up some of my time, too. But it’s a good use of time. Although I’m a firm believer in ‘having it all’, I don’t believe you can have it all at once – there simply aren’t enough hours in the day. At the moment, I’m focusing on my day job and on getting fitter, so writing has had to take a bit of a back seat. I was stressing about this for a while, but then I realised that was silly. My priorities have changed, for the time being at least. Writing is meant to be fun. If I’m forcing myself to do it when I’m tired, or should be doing something else, that’s not fun.

This blog post is as much for me as for you, lovely readers. I’m giving myself permission to not write.

That said, I’m sure I’ll simply not write as much. I’ll still blog about fun things I’ve done. I’ve got a couple of short stories already written that’ll be appearing on here. And I’m sure that, having permitted myself not to write, ideas will jump into my head that I simply have to write about!

Okay, I’m off to make dinner, feed the cats, and all those kind of necessary tasks. Oh, and see if hubby needs any help – he’s up a ladder fixing something! πŸ˜€

I’ll see you when I see you, folks.

Karen xx

15 thoughts on “Not Leaving, Just Changing Focus For a While

  1. It’s definitely challenging in the summer to keep up with writing. Too many other temptations and it is the best time to get into a fitness routine. All the best! Jan

  2. I am so proud of what you have achieved Karen and what you are about to take on in the future. I am very proud of both of you and I enjoy your blogs very much and will look forward to some more in the future xx

  3. Congrats on sticking to your fitness routine! I broke my leg June 17, and I’ve been doing therapy every day. Not so much fun, but necessary. It’s made me remember how much I loved doing my exercise routine every day, though. When I’m fit enough, I’m doing that again. First thing, before the day takes over. Stick with it, Karen!

  4. That’s a lot going on, my sweet! I’m most impressed you’re managing to keep all those balls in the air. Me, I’d be dropping them LRC. So rock on, juggle on, and fear not: we will await your next post with patience and a ready smile, whenever inspiration strikes you and you have a free second. Rock on, run on, and write on. XXX πŸ˜€

    • It’s weird, you’re not the only other person to write a similar post recently, I’ve seen a couple of others too. As you say, maybe it’s the time of year! Thanks for reading. πŸ™‚

  5. Good job with the fitness stuff and good luck keeping it up! Working out regularly can be such a difficult goal but it’s so worth it. I look forward to hearing about the Tough Mudder next year!

Leave a Reply

